The European Crystallographic Association is pleased to announce the first Alajos Kálmán Prize. The Prize will be awarded to an individual researcher in recognition for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences within the last 5-10 years.

The International Kalman Prize preserves the memory of the late Alajos Kálmán, an eminent scientist in the field of chemical crystallography. The Prize is established by the Hungarian Chemical Society and is endorsed by the European Crystallographic Association and will be awarded in ECM years. The prize consists of a medal and a financial award, and the awardee delivers a Prize Lecture at the ECM.  The award lecture will be held during the coming ECM in Vienna on Wednesday, 21st August 2019 16:00-16:30.

Nominators may be ECA Individual Members, or any person from a national member of ECA, or any Corporate Affiliated Member. The nominator must ensure a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee.
The nominee must have a clear affiliation with the ECA, directly associated with crystallography and a listed member of the World Directory of Crystallography. The nominee shall not hold a current position on the ECA Executive Committee and on ECA SIG13 or be member of the current Alajos Kalman Prize Committee. The nominator must indicate briefly why the candidate is nominated and may include matters such as publication record and impact of his/her research in the scientific community.

The selection of the awardee is conducted by ECA SIG13, but this does not mean that the  nominee or awardee should have a strong affiliation with SIG13. The research activities of the nominees can be in all structural sciences related to crystallography.

Nominations must be sent to the ECA SIG13 Chair: Petra Bombicz.

The nomination deadline is the 1st of August 2019.

More information on the ECA website.